Posted on

Just make the right calls

When I watch the Green Bay Packers-San Diego Chargers game tomorrow night I am looking forward to seeing my favorite team back on the field after an atrocious showing in last year’s NFC Divisional round. I am excited to see how the young guys fighting for a spot on the roster live up to the test of live action and full contact for the first time this season. 

There is another story line which I am very interested in and that is tomorrow’s game will feature Shannon Eastin who will be the first female referee in NFL history. Plenty of players around the league are open to the idea and Packers defensive back, Charles Woodson had this to say, 

“What do I think about it? Well, it’s probably about time. I’m sure women have probably tried at some point, along the way, leading up to this point. I would assume there’s somebody qualified out there, that we won’t have to jump all over for making bad calls. We look forward to it. That’s just the way things are and the way they should be. Hats off to her and whoever decided to make it happen.”

Like Woodson I agree, it is about time and I am looking forward to how Eastin handles the pressure of being an NFL referee and how she responds if a coach or player pleads their case to her. Eastin is actually entering her 17th season as a football official and will serve as a line judge in tomorrow night’s game so I am sure she has heard her fair share of complaints on lower levels. 

She has been working all week long at the Seattle Seahawks training camp honing up her skills and Eastin said the team joked with her to make her feel welcome. Eastin also said Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald was very kind and supportive to her which is something else she appreciated. 

Eastin said this is a dream come true for her and is very excited, but also admitted there are some butterflies floating around which is understandable. I mean it is the NFL. 

As a fan of the game I am looking forward to see how she does in this game and if she does a good job hopefully there are more opportunities for her in the future. Like any official in the NFL all I care about is her knowing the rules and making the correct decisions. Best of luck tomorrow night Shannon!

Image

About tozzi7

I am a rock DJ for 93.5 in Green Bay, WI. Check it out, 93rockon.com. I am originally from Huron, Ohio which is a small town on Lake Erie. I love sports and rock music. Pretty much my two passions. I am a Green Bay Packers, Ohio State Buckeyes, New York knicks, Cleveland Indians and Milwaukee Brewers fan. Feel free to comment on the blog and give me your feedback. I love debating sports so bring your comments, just don't be a jerk about it. Any ideas for blog posts let me know!

Leave a Reply

