Posted on

Reaction to last night’s game.

I have mentioned a few times on here about how excited I have been about preseason football being back and looking forward to see how the Packers and their young players do. After watching last night’s performance against the San Diego (SUPER) Chargers you can bet I am still very excited it is the preseason. OK enough excited comments, I am not Tim Tebow. 

Last night I had four main points I was looking for in the game. Here is a recap of what I thought.

My first point was about the play of Graham Harrell and B.J. Coleman. First off here is what I liked from Harrell:

  • Arm strength- His passes had much more zip on them than they have in the last few seasons.
  •  First touchdown drive- Harrell looked very comfortable and poised on the drive which resulted in a touchdown pass to Cobb. On this drive he wasn’t zoned in on just one option.

Here are a few things he can improve on-

  • Consistency- Harrell started out a putrid 3-9 for 9 yards, then had the great TD drive which resulted with Cobb in the end zone. 
  • Poise- At the beginning Harrell looked rattled and zoned in on one guy, but improved as the game went on.

Coleman came in as I thought he would. A live arm who struggles with his accuracy but not afraid to take chances. I like him as a developmental project. 

My second point was the pass rush, mostly how would rookies Nick Perry and Jerel Worthy do. Perry really impressed me in his first game. The guy showed great power and getting a sack of Phillip Rivers on the second play of the game. But I guess Nick didn’t know flexing your arms results in an unsportsmanlike conduct policy. Don’t worry Nick, most of didn’t know either. Look for the Packers to adopt the Ricky Bobby style of not knowing what to do with your hands as their new celebration.  He was also in on plenty of run plays as well so hopefully he continues to impress. Didn’t get to see as much of Worthy as I wanted to but will keep my eye out for him next Thursday. 

My third point was on Charles Woodson playing a bit more at safety. I guess I should have waited to post this blog a few hours after I did because Chuck didn’t play. However I did like what I saw from youngsters Casey Hayward and Davon House. Hayward had some nice break-ups in coverage and House made a great tackle behind the line of scrimmage before injuring his shoulder. More information on his injury is expected tomorrow. 

My last point was the running game. In one word- lackluster. James Starks managed to drop a pass and fumble on the first drive of the game for the Pack. The team managed 51 yards on 22 carries good enough for 2.3 yards per carry. Alex Green only had three rushes for three yards but I expect to see more from him as the preseason moves forward. Marc Tyler showed some nice power running between the tackles, look for him to be a practice squad candidate right now. 

In a move earlier today the Packers signed free agent running back Cedric Benson in a move to bolster and potentially put some heat on the seat of Starks for the number one back. I like the move because it more than likely came as a cheap deal and the guy put together some nice seasons in Cincinnati. Can’t wait for next Thursday’s game against my home state team, the Cleveland Browns. I am looking for a different Packers team to take the field than the one we witnessed last night. 

About tozzi7

I am a rock DJ for 93.5 in Green Bay, WI. Check it out, 93rockon.com. I am originally from Huron, Ohio which is a small town on Lake Erie. I love sports and rock music. Pretty much my two passions. I am a Green Bay Packers, Ohio State Buckeyes, New York knicks, Cleveland Indians and Milwaukee Brewers fan. Feel free to comment on the blog and give me your feedback. I love debating sports so bring your comments, just don't be a jerk about it. Any ideas for blog posts let me know!

Leave a Reply

