Posted on

Through two weeks Packer fans have seen two different versions of the Green Bay Packers. While the offense has been stagnant, we have seen two completely different defenses. Week one looked like the same defense who struggled to tackle and gave up too many yards. Against the Bears the Pack made a few changes, giving Sam Shields the start over Jarrrett Bush and the more physical Jerron McMilian getting the start at safety over M.D. Jennings. Rookie Casey Hayward also got on the field quite a bit and had a solid performance. It resulted in  seven sacks and four interceptions. Here are some keys for tonight.

1. Make the big play-

  • The offense has had just one completion over 30 yards this season while having over 60 plays of 20 plus yards last season. Cedric Benson needs to have another strong game to open the play-action game.

2. Contain Marshawn Lynch-

  • After getting torched by the 49ers for over 180 yards rushing the Pack rebounded nicely by holding the Bears to 94 yards on the ground. Players like McMilian, Jerel Worthy and Mike Daniels need to build off their performances against the Bears.

3. Dealing with the noise-

  • The Seahawks have one of the loudest stadiums in the league and are one of the top places with the most false starts by opponents. The Pack need to remain disciplined and can’t afford to have that third and short false start in the middle of the field that always seems to plague them.

4. Pressure-

  • Against the Bears this was one of my main points and it resulted in seven sacks and four interceptions. This isn’t something that will happen every week, but I look for Clay Matthews and his league leading six sacks to start getting double teamed soon. Nick Perry has looked admirable so far but if Matthews gets doubled he needs to start making the impact plays.

I said in my pick ’em the Pack would win 30-20 and I am sticking with that.

 

About tozzi7

I am a rock DJ for 93.5 in Green Bay, WI. Check it out, 93rockon.com. I am originally from Huron, Ohio which is a small town on Lake Erie. I love sports and rock music. Pretty much my two passions. I am a Green Bay Packers, Ohio State Buckeyes, New York knicks, Cleveland Indians and Milwaukee Brewers fan. Feel free to comment on the blog and give me your feedback. I love debating sports so bring your comments, just don't be a jerk about it. Any ideas for blog posts let me know!

Leave a comment