Posted on

Keys to today’s game.

The Pack evened things up last week with a win over one of the more dangerous teams to start an NFL season at 0-3, the New Orleans Saints. I am running a little late so let’s get to the points for today’s game!

1. Pounce early:

  • Andrew Luck is one of the best quarterback prospects in the NFL but the Pack needs to get pressure on him early. Charles Woodson was saying this before the Seattle game a few weeks ago when they faced rookie Russell Wilson. The Green Bay defense needs to get pressure early and often to rattle Luck and force him into some bad throws.
  • This offense found a bit of a groove last week. The Colts have the 16th ranked pass defense in the NFL. The trade for Vontae Davis over the summer made a nice addition but this is still a defense Rodgers should be able to rip apart. They need to take some chances down the field early and show the dominance they are capable of.

2. Cedric Benson:

  • The Colts rush defense gets torched for over 130 yards a game, good enough for 25th in the league. A nice dose of Cedric Benson could really open up things down the field and allow the Packers to pull off the play-action passing they like so much.

3. Charles Woodson:

  • Earlier I wrote about Wood wanting to rattle rookie QB’s early and often and I think Chuck is one of the big keys to make that happen. He is fourth on the team in tackles, but has recorded only one interception on the season and has done well by collecting one and a half sacks in week one. I am not saying Woodson hasn’t played well but to quote Kevin Greene in Super Bowl 45, “it is time”.

I am sticking with my Packers pick of 34-20. With a win today, it will be their first time over .500 on the season. Crazy to think it would take til week five for that to happen eh?

 

About tozzi7

I am a rock DJ for 93.5 in Green Bay, WI. Check it out, 93rockon.com. I am originally from Huron, Ohio which is a small town on Lake Erie. I love sports and rock music. Pretty much my two passions. I am a Green Bay Packers, Ohio State Buckeyes, New York knicks, Cleveland Indians and Milwaukee Brewers fan. Feel free to comment on the blog and give me your feedback. I love debating sports so bring your comments, just don't be a jerk about it. Any ideas for blog posts let me know!

Leave a Reply

