Posted on

100 days away.

It’s time to begin the countdown for the Green Bay Packers opening game of the season so I have to share a few of my feelings so far. Week one is a carbon copy of how the Packers started and ended last year, playing the San Francisco 49ers. The Packers were outplayed and out-physicalled(yes I am making up words) in both games. The Pack didn’t do much in free agency outside of signing veteran tight end Matthew Mulligan but getting Aaron Rodgers and Clay Matthews signed to long-term deals put a lot of minds at ease. 

While some might scoff at the signing, Mulligan who is 6’4 and 260 pounds is known for his blocking which is something Green Bay has lacked at that position. Mulligan is going for a spot at one of the deepest spots on the team but he might be the angry S.O.B this team needs at tight end.

A few other players who intrigue me are rookies Datone Jones and Eddie Lacey. Jones gives the Packers the long-armed 3-4 DE every team desires while Lacey might be the first Packers running back to knock defenders on their ass consistently since Ahman Green. 

I have a very optimistic feeling about this rookie class and I keep telling myself don’t get too excited until you see what these players bring in training camp and beyond. The Packers realized they need to increase the physicality and some of the guys drafted bring that nastiness to them. It’s time for the Pack to get the horrid taste out of their mouths from the last two playoff losses and prove they are the top team in the NFC. 

Image

About tozzi7

I am a rock DJ for 93.5 in Green Bay, WI. Check it out, 93rockon.com. I am originally from Huron, Ohio which is a small town on Lake Erie. I love sports and rock music. Pretty much my two passions. I am a Green Bay Packers, Ohio State Buckeyes, New York knicks, Cleveland Indians and Milwaukee Brewers fan. Feel free to comment on the blog and give me your feedback. I love debating sports so bring your comments, just don't be a jerk about it. Any ideas for blog posts let me know!

Leave a Reply

