Song of the Week 6-28

Today will be the last song of the week for June and it’s a damn good one. Soil has had lead singer Ryan McCombs back for a few years which makes me very happy. I am a lot bigger fan of him in Soil than I was Drowning Pool.

The first album with McCombs return is called Whole and will be released on August 20th. You can hear the song I am going to share called “Shine On” on this album. The song starts pretty calm but after a little while the storm hits. Listen and enjoy!



Who doesn’t like winning bets?

As you know, I am a sucker for youtube. The video I watched yesterday has become one of my all-time favorites. Now everyone loves winning a bet whether it is for me, to embarrass a friend or just for some respect. Well here are ten ways for you to pull a fast one on your friends or family.

Five Finger webisode 2.

The guys from Five Finger Death Punch are back with their second webisode talking about their upcoming album, The Wrong Side of Heaven and the Righteous Side of Hell. In this episode the guys talk about the legend of metal, Rob Halford joining them for the song Lift me Up and a quick snippet of the album’s title track.

Cooking is metal.

I love to cook. Yes, you read that right, a guy is admitting he loves to cook. Not only is it a nice thing to do for your wife or girlfriend but now, cooking is metal. My boss Jason from 93rock passed along one of the better youtube videos I have seen in awhile.

Cooking with Phil Anselmo (Pantera, Down) is the video and he teaches you how to cook while singing directions to several Pantera songs. It’s a cartoon video and is beyond hilarious. Plus you get to listen to Pantera. How could it get any better than that?

Enjoy! Hope this helps get your week off to a good start!

I wonder how this will go over.

Earlier this week I was talking with one of our morning show host’s Nick and he showed me this video for Sesame Street. Apparently the Street now has a puppet on there who’s father is in jail. While watching the video I couldn’t come to a conclusion how parents might perceive this. I watched Sesame Street as a young kid and it helped my development (at least that’s what my parents told me). I am just not sure how I feel about this new character.

Take a look at the video and let me know your opinion. 

We’re dunkin!

This is a video from a few years ago, when the Miami Heat got the Big 3 to join forces. If you have ever seen the baseball friend videos, this is the same thing except with Lebron James and Dwayne Wade. It’s before the Heat won their first title and since the guys brought home their second championship last night, I feel it is appropriate to share.

Don’t worry, I am not a Heat fan but do appreciate media types such as Skip Bayless squirming in their seats and having to give guys like James their due. So enjoy this hilarious video!

Hey everyone, come and see how good I look!

It’s here! Finally, an extended trailer for the much anticipated sequel to Anchorman. The channel five news team is back and partying in the 1980’s. The trailer had me laughing out loud at work and it seems like Brick might be finding the love of his life. Take a watch below:

Song of the week 6-18

I recently bought Filter’s new album, The Sun Comes out Tonight. If your local rock stations are smart, they are playing the debut single off that album, “What Do You Say”. However there are some deeper tracks on this CD which are completely badass.

The song I will be sharing today is called, “We Hate It When You Get What You Want“. It is the lead song on the album and if you have heard me rant on 93rock, you know I love it when a band doesn’t use the lead single as the opening song (I have weird pet peeves). So take a listen to this track and enjoy!

Another snippet, another share.

Five Finger Death Punch has been on my blog quite a bit lately which is never a bad thing. They are the latest band who has decided to do a double album and a lot like Stone Sour are releasing snippets from a number of songs from their upcoming album.

The Wrong Side of Heaven and the Righteous Side of Hell, volume 1 will be released on July 29th (2 days after I see them, rats!). This snippet is from the song “Burn MF“. In the first second of the song you find out what the MF stands for.I am sure most of you have no idea what it could be.
Also here is the complete track list from the upcoming album and it has some interesting and exciting special guests.
 1. Lift Me Up (feat. Rob Halford)
 2. Watch You Bleed
 3. You
 4. The Wrong Side Of Heaven
 5. Burn MF
 6. Sin (feat. Max Cavalera)
 7. Anywhere But Here (feat. Maria Brink)
 8. Dot Your Eyes
 9. End This Way
10. Mama Said Knock You Out (feat. Tech N9ne)
11. Diary Of A Dead Man
12. Here To Die