Posted on

Packers preseason game 2.

It’s nice to have football back, but with not having internet and cable installed yet I have not been able to write as much as I have wanted about the upcoming season. That will change in a few weeks. Luckily the apartment complex I am in has a place with free internet and I always have the radio station. Today I am going to focus on some things I am looking for in tonight’s Packers preseason game against the St. Louis Rams. Notice things I am looking for and not keys to a victory because, well it is the preseason.

1. Eddie Lacy- Lacy missed some practices and the first preseason game with a pulled hamstring. The Packers running game looked pretty similar to what it was last year with a lot of three yard runs. Lacy was brought in to be the guy to break tackles and I am looking forward to seeing some power running tonight.

2. Back up QB- Will Vince Young be able to learn enough in a month or so to be able to pass Graham Harrell and B.J. Coleman for the back up job? Young isn’t a guy who has had the greatest career but he does have a lot more game experience than the other guys. Harrell and Coleman need to show the improvement I have read so much about from the coaches tonight or the Packers might have one of the worst backup QB situations in the NFL.

3. 4 and 5 receiver spots- Tyrone Walker showed natural route running ability last week and good hands. Jarrett Boykin has had a good camp but fellow second year man Jeremy Ross needs to prove he can be consistent. 7th round pick Kevin Dorsey has finally started practicing while fellow 7th round pick Charles Johnson hasn’t done a thing in training camp because of injury. I think Boykin makes this team but that last spot is up for grabs.

4. Special teams- Hopefully the Packers are in a position tonight to put up some points. Mason Crosby and Giorgio Tavecchio will be battling it out for the kicking role this year while someone needs to step up and prove they can return punts and kicks so Randall Cobb can focus on playing receiver. This could be where Jeremy Ross separates himself from the rest of the receivers or goes down in flames. Rookie running back Johnathan Franklin has tried returning punts but has muffed way too many in practice for me to be comfortable with him back there.

About tozzi7

I am a rock DJ for 93.5 in Green Bay, WI. Check it out, 93rockon.com. I am originally from Huron, Ohio which is a small town on Lake Erie. I love sports and rock music. Pretty much my two passions. I am a Green Bay Packers, Ohio State Buckeyes, New York knicks, Cleveland Indians and Milwaukee Brewers fan. Feel free to comment on the blog and give me your feedback. I love debating sports so bring your comments, just don't be a jerk about it. Any ideas for blog posts let me know!

3 responses to “Packers preseason game 2.

  1. Sean Breslin ⋅

    The Packers definitely need Lacy to be productive this season, but his weight gain worries me. I’m not sure he’ll be able to make it through his rookie season injury-free.

    Sean
    http://breslanta.com

    • tozzi7

      He had himself a pretty nice game last night. Packers just have to be smart with him and not work him too much. Finley also looked like himself from 2009 early 2010. If his drops are behind him, they are gonna have one tough offense to stop. Thanks for the comment man.

    • tozzi7

      He had himself a pretty nice game last night. Packers just have to be smart with him and not work him too much. Finley also looked like himself from 2009 early 2010. If his drops are behind him, they are gonna have one tough offense to stop. Thanks for the comment man.

Leave a Reply

